User menu

Reallocation of service responsibilities - Cabinet. The chosen few why?

Council Leader Andrew Morgan has today reallocated service responsibilities within his Cabinet following the personal decision of Councillor Geraint Hopkins to step down from his Executive responsibilities earlier this week.
County Borough Councillor Andrew Morgan, Leader of the Council, said: “I would like to thank Councillor Geraint Hopkins for his hard work and dedication over the last five years as a member of the Cabinet, during which time he has held responsibility for a number of key Council services and delivered important improvements and investments in these areas.“Councillor Hopkins informed me earlier this week of his decision to focus on personal matters and family life and I know that he will continue to provide a strong voice for the residents of Llanharan and, in doing so, will continue to play an active role on the Council.“The responsibilities for the important areas of service led by Councillor Hopkins until this week will be taken forward by Councillor Tina Leyshon as the new Cabinet Member for Adult & Children’s Services.“Responsibility for promoting the Welsh Language will be taken forward by Councillor Rhys Lewis as the new Cabinet Member for Communities, Culture and the Welsh Language.”
Under these changes, responsibility for Early Years Education will move to Councillor Joy Rosser and responsibility for Youth Services and Engagement will be taken forward by the Leader of the Council.As result of these changes the Leader’s scheme of delegation will be updated accordingly, with the following Cabinet Membership:Leader of the Council & Chair of the Cabinet: Cllr Andrew MorganDeputy Leader of the Council & Cabinet Member for Council Business: Cllr Maureen WebberCabinet Member for Enterprise, Development & Housing: Cllr Robert BevanCabinet Member for Education & Inclusion Services: Cllr Joy RosserCabinet Member for Adult & Children’s Services: Cllr Tina LeyshonCabinet Member for Communities, Culture & the Welsh Language: Cllr Rhys LewisCabinet Member for Corporate Services: Cllr Mark NorrisCabinet Member for Environment, Leisure & Heritage: Cllr Ann CrimmingsPosted on Thursday 9th January 2020