User menu

Labour party unopposed in Rhondda Cynon Taf

The Labour party unopposed in Rhondda Cynon Taf has a free hand, as there is no serious opposition to them.


The RCT Welsh Liberal Democrats have just one ward councillor Mike Powell


Plaid Cymru has nine ward councillors Pauline Jarman Leader of party Councillors Emyr John Webster, Maureen Weaver, Shelley Rees Owen, Irene Elizabeth Pearce, Karen Morgan, Sera Evans-Fear, Cennard Davies and Geraint R Davies


Three independents and one Conservative councillor and just 59 Labour councillors


Basically the Rhondda Cynon Taf Labour controlled council at this time has no realistic opposition and this will not change in the next election.


Many residents seem unopposed to the cuts imposed, there are a few who voice their opposition some residents who feel strongly about cuts imposed get them overturned as did campaigners at Rhydyfelin Library had the closure overturned.


The man opposition to Labour is Plaid Cymru who don’t seem to vent much disagreement to what RCTC Labour inflict, the Plaid leader Pauline Jarman is not vocal on social media and that’s where a modern party should be. No one in Plaid Cymru is standing out as serious replacement as a new leader so it looks like the laid-back opposition from Plaid Cymru will continue.


It seems the only opposition Labour has is councillor Mike Powell and the team at RCT Welsh Liberal Democrats