Te Hufen | Cream Tea: Hen Dŷ Cwrdd, Trecynon.
Addoldai Cymru invites everyone to a Cream Tea where locally made sandwiches, teas and cake will be available for local people and visitors, and an opportunity to visit this fascinating building, which is not normally open to the general public.
Hen Dŷ Cwrdd will open to the public between 12.00 p.m. and 4.00 p.m. on Saturday 31st August 2019.
Hen Dŷ Cwrdd This will be an opportunity to look around and view this interesting Unitarian Chapel. It will also be an opportunity to learn about the history of the chapel and to find out about potential developments.
Hen Dŷ Cwrdd is a Grade II Listed Unitarian Chapel. It is the earliest Nonconformist cause in the Cynon Valley and represents the continuity of radical thought and action since the 17th century. The first chapel was built in 1751, as a cottage-like meeting house. The current chapel was built in 1862 to the design of architect Evan Griffiths of Aberdare. It is a medium-sized chapel seating 250-300, with an unusually plain façade designed to be ‘simple and strong, reflecting Unitarian beliefs in liberty, tolerance and forbearance’. Following its closure, it was acquired by Addoldai Cymru in 2005 and has had extensive repairs carried out since that time.