User menu

New Cabinet Announced

In advance of his appointment as Leader of the Council, for a second term, at the Council AGM on Wednesday evening (May 20), Cllr Andrew Morgan has announced detail of his new Cabinet.

Following the decision of former Deputy Leader, Cllr Paul Cannon QPM, to stand down, Cllr Morgan will this evening appoint Cllr Keiron Montague as Deputy Leader of the Council.

As part of his new role, Cllr Montague will take responsibility for the Council’s actions to tackle and reduce poverty.

As part of his revised Cabinet, Cllr Andrew Morgan will also announce the appointment of Cllr Joy Rosser to his existing Cabinet. She will take up the role of Cabinet Member for Safer Communities , Libraries and Heritage.

Alongside other changes to the current Cabinet Members portfolios, Cllr Ann Crimmings sees responsibility for Culture added to her current Cabinet remit for Leisure and the Environment. Cllr Robert Bevan, Cllr Eudine Hanagan, Cllr Mike Forey, Cllr Geraint Hopkins and Cllr Maureen Webber keep their current areas of responsibility with some changes to reflect the new appointments.

County Borough Councillor, Andrew Morgan, Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, said: “Following my appointment as Leader of the Council this evening, I will announce a number of changes to my Cabinet team.

“I have asked Cllr Joy Rosser to join the Cabinet, with responsibility for Safer Communities, Libraries and Tourism.

“At this meeting I will formally appoint Cllr Keiron Montague as Deputy Leader of the Council and make a number of changes to the areas of responsibility covered by my nine member Cabinet.

“As you will recall, I reduced the number of the Cabinet from 10 to nine last year.

“I firmly believe Joy will make a great addition to my Cabinet, bringing with her a wealth of experience working within the voluntary sector locally and the same dedication which she offers to Trealaw.

“Keiron has already demonstrated his skills and abilities as a Cabinet Member and has already made a significant contribution to the engagement agenda with our communities, which I am keen for the Council to develop and maintain.

“Keiron is a strong voice for the community he represents and, as Deputy Leader of the Council, I am confident he will offer an equally strong voice for the Council.

“Both Joy and Keiron bring with them fresh ideas and enthusiasm which will ensure the Council continues to make strong progress in terms of service delivery and, despite the cuts to funding we face, ensure we can protect front line services.

“I firmly believe the Cabinet has the right mix of fresh ideas and experience to take the Council forward and to face the difficult challenges ahead for the public sector and local government, supported by the new scrutiny arrangements to be considered at the Council AGM.”

County Borough Councillor Keiron Montague, who is currently the Cabinet Member for Service Delivery, Communities and Housing,said: “I am delighted to be able to play an even stronger role in supporting the Leader of the Council, Cllr Andrew Morgan and the Cabinet take forward the priorities of the communities we represent.

“The Council and our communities face significant challenges as a result of the austerity measures the public sector face now and into the future. In my new role I am keen to support Andrew as Leader of Council in dealing with these challenges.”

County Borough Councillor Joy Rosser, who represents Trealaw and will be appointed later today as the Cabinet Member for Safer Communities, Libraries and Heritage, said: “I feel privileged to have been asked by the Leader of the Council to serve in his Cabinet and for the chance to play a strategic role in shaping the delivery of services and our communities as a member of the Executive.

“I am pleased to be offered responsibility around areas such as Community Safety, our Libraries and the Heritage of our County Borough - all areas of importance to the residents of Rhondda Cynon - and I will be keen to make a positive impact from within Cabinet.”

Cllr Joy Rosser was elected to the Council in 2012. She has served a member of the Licensing and Community Services Scrutiny Committees. Cllr Rosser has also previously served as a member of the South Wales Fire and Rescue Authority.

Following the amendments to be announced by the Leader at the Council AGM this evening, the Council Cabinet will be:

Cllr Andrew Morgan, Leader of the Council (Chair of the Cabinet)
Cllr Keiron Montague, Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Tackling Poverty, Engagement & Housing (Vice Chair of the Cabinet)
Cllr Maureen Webber, Cabinet Member for Council Business
Cllr Robert Bevan, Cabinet Member for Economic Development & Planning
Cllr Ann Crimmings, Cabinet Member for the Environment, Leisure and Culture
Cllr Eudine Hanagan, Cabinet Member for Education & Skills
Cllr Mike Forey, Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social Services
Cllr Geraint Hopkins, Cabinet Member for Children’s Social Services, Equalities and the Welsh Language
Cllr Joy Rosser, Cabinet Member for Safer Communities, Libraries and Heritage