User menu

Arriva Trains Wales Christmas & New Year Travel Summary

At Arriva Trains Wales, we recognise that Christmas and the New Year is a particularly important time for all your travel needs. Whether it’s visiting family and friends, buying gifts for loved ones or going to work, we want to ensure that all our customers can plan and make those important journeys.

To help, we have provided this quick summary of some minor changes which may affect journeys during this period. This page contains details of the train service levels and engineering work that will impact Arriva Trains Wales customers over the Christmas and New Year Holiday period.

Please note: Timetables and details for the Last Train Home on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve ar yet to be confirmed. Please visit this page again before you plan to travel.

Service Levels

Date Service Level
Monday 22 December A normal Monday service will run.
Tuesday 23 December A normal Tuesday service will run.
Wednesday 24 December Christmas Eve
A normal Wednesday service will run for most of the day, but trains will finish earlier in the day than usual.
Thursday 25 December Christmas Day
No Arriva Trains Wales services will run
Friday 26 December Boxing Day
No Arriva Trains Wales services will run
Saturday 27 December A normal Saturday service will run but services with start later than usual. Please check train times by visitingwww.buytickets.arrivatrainswales.co.uk.
Sunday 28 December A normal Sunday service will run.
Monday 29 December A normal Monday service will run.
Tuesday 30 December A normal Tuesday service will run.
Wednesday 31 December
New Years Eve
A normal weekday service will run for most of the day, but trains will finish earlier in the day than usual.
Thursday 1 January 2015 New Years Day
Valley Lines - no services will be running, except for trains between Cardiff Central and Bridgend via Barry TBC
Mainline - A normal weekday service will run after 0600.
Ferry connections - The 01:50 Fishguard Harbour to Cardiff Central service will not run. TBC
Friday 2 January 2015 A normal weekday service will run, subject to engineering work.

http://m.arrivatrainswales.co.uk/news/2014/12/christmas-new-year-service...