User login


Should RCT Councilors face a fine of £120 for not turning up for meetings same as Parents for kid not attending school
Total votes: 15

Who's online

There are currently 4 users and 36 guests online.

Online users

  • Lewis
  • Tommygun
  • Tommygun
  • Tommygun


Follow AberdareOnline on Twitter

New Cabinet Announced


Rhondda Cynon Taf Council’s new Leader, Cllr Andrew Morgan, has announced his new Cabinet team.

Cllr Morgan has described the new Executive of the Council as offering the right mix of experience, expertise and fresh ideas to support him in taking the Council forward.

To support an extension of free parking in town centres during the important Christmas period, Cllr Morgan announced reductions in the salaries to the Executive including a five percent reduction in his own salary.

County Borough Councillor Andrew Morgan, Leader of Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council said:

"To support me in my role as Leader I have appointed a new Cabinet to work alongside me in taking the Council forward and to deal with the challenges this local authority and our communities face.

"Working alongside our recently-appointed Chief Executive and his Senior Management Team, the new Cabinet provides the right mix of experience, expertise and fresh ideas.

"Joining the long-standing and experienced members I have asked to continue as part of the Cabinet, I am pleased to welcome three new members to the Executive.

"I would also like to place on record my thanks to the previous Cabinet for the commitment they offered to their roles.

"In these challenging financial times, I have taken the decision to reduce the size of the Cabinet and also to reduce the level of senior salaries offered to the Cabinet.

“This includes a five percent reduction in my own salary and a three per cent reduction in the salary of the Deputy Leader. There will also be a one per cent cut to other Cabinet salaries, on top of the one percent reduction agreed by all members of my group on the Council.”

At the Annual General Meeting of this Council this evening, Cllr Morgan also announced a reduction in the level of salary offered to the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The savings made on remuneration to the Executive and Civic roles will be used to support the extension of free Christmas Parking from two weeks to a month to support town centres during this important trading time. As part of these savings, the size of the Cabinet is reduced from ten members to nine.

The new Cabinet of the Council is:

Leader of the Council and Chair of the Cabinet: Cllr Andrew Morgan (Mountain Ash West)

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Safer Communities, Tourism and Heritage: Cllr Paul Cannon QPM (Ystrad)

Cabinet Member for Economic Development and Planning: Cllr Robert Bevan (Tylorstown)

Cabinet Member for Environment, Leisure and Sport: Cllr Ann Crimmings (Aberdare West and Llwydcoed)

Cabinet Member for Education and Lifelong Learning:Cllr Eudine Hanagan (Tonyrefail West)

Cabinet Member for Children’s Social Services and Equalities: Cllr Geraint Hopkins (Llanharan)

Cabinet Member for Service Delivery, Communities and Housing: Cllr Keiron Montague (Maerdy)

Cabinet Member for Council Business and Corporate Affairs: Cllr Maureen Webber (Rhydfelin)

Latest comments